h1

Shiseido Tsubaki Shampoo and Conditioner

August 31, 2009

shiseido

I know, I know. I should be in bed sleeping. Well I am in bed at least, but I couldn’t forget to review this shampoo and conditioner.

I like it quite a bit. My husband loves the scent, as do I. The creamy consistency is a big plus. The $15 USD price tag may be off-putting to some, but this isn’t my every day shampoo. I use it maybe once per month. It’s typically used when I can take a really, really long shower and just relax.
TMI?
Onto the cleaning. The shampoo gets my hair clean without making it squeaky. That is to say over-cleansed and dried out. Unfortunately, it made my friend’s finer hair feel not clean enough.
The conditioner is great, especially for combing out tangles (with a wide-tooth comb only). Another problem presents itself. My hair felt heavy after using this conditioner. I suppose my hair has high porosity and it is pretty soft with a mixed texture of nap and curls. My sister’s hair is very dry and coarse. It is also quite damaged. This conditioner worked wonders for her. It was just right. I’m not 100% sure why. My friend has fine, straight hair and this conditioner made her hair look and smell nice, but it felt heavy. She felt like she needed to was her hair again. I can understand. After using the shampoo and conditioner, then air drying, I felt like there was product in my hair. The only difference between the two of us is that for me it was a good thing.

So my guess is that this is NOT one of those products you could just recommend to anyone and rave about. This is for people like me with “medium” hair. My hair is thick but not coarse. Humidity makes my hair curl and poof like crazy. It has some flat iron & blow dryer damage, but is still very soft. For ME, I give this set 3.5 to 4 stars (on a scale of 1-5).

Leave a Reply

